Butternut Squash Seeds

I love pumpkin seeds, but of course, I had no pumpkin. Before I’m tared and feathered for not having a pumpkin during the month of October, let me explain. It’s on my to do list. End of explaination.

 

I wanted to be resourceful with my butternut squash, so I seasoned and toasted the seeds. They are a perfect snack, or you can sprinkle them on some greens.

The recipe is simple and effortless:

  • Butternut Squash Seeds
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Olive Oil

Warm the oven at 200 f. Using a baking pan, I coated the seeds in a little olive oil and then sprinkled about a pinch of each dry ingredient, with the exception of salt only because I wanted to reduce the amount of sodium. Then I put them in the oven for about an hour. Customize this recipe by putting your arrangement of herbs and spices. It can turn out wonderful!

 

Notes: If you are using fresh seeds, make sure to give them a good wash and allow some time for them to dry. Otherwise, they will steam while they bake.

 

Leave a comment